A drug-related conviction could change your life forever. Something as small as possession of marijuana to possession with intent to deliver can leave you with a life-long criminal record that could keep you from getting a job, obtaining credit, or finding good housing. You also could lose your driver’s license or lose the right to carry a firearm, depending on the severity of the charges.
As soon as you are arrested for a drug crime in Pennsylvania, you should call a drug crime defense attorney who can help represent you. The law can be complicated, and the consequences of a drug conviction can haunt you for the rest of your life.
There are many factors that determine the severity of your drug-related charges and the penalties you might face. The greatest factors depend on the amount of drug you had in your possession and whether it was a small amount for personal use or a larger amount intended for delivery.
Other factors considered for drug charges are if you sold or gave the drug to someone younger than 18, if you were in a school zone or if you were found to be in possession of a weapon. The type of drug and what your criminal history might be also could impact the punishment, if you’re convicted.
The charges for drug crimes vary in Pennsylvania. Some of the most common are:
Possession of A Small Amount of Marijuana: A misdemeanor, this charge could come with a penalty of up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. You could face this charge if you're found with up to 30g of marijuana or 8g of hashish or less. It could also mean you lose your driver’s license, are prohibited from owning a firearm, and might have to go through mandatory treatment programs.
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia: Drug paraphernalia can include but is not limited to bongs, pipes, needles, razor blades, and rolling paper. Also a misdemeanor, a conviction of possession of drug paraphernalia could lead up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine. It also comes with some of the same consequences mentioned above, which could have a lasting impact on the rest of your life.
Manufacturing, Delivering or Possession with The Intent to Deliver: You could be charged with possession with intent to deliver based on three circumstances: you were seen selling narcotics, you were found with drugs that police believe to be too much for personal use or you were sharing drugs at a party.
The maximum penalties for a PWID charge depend on the amount and type of drug.
For heroin, the maximum penalty is up to 360 months in prison and a $250,000 fine.
For cocaine, the maximum penalty is up to 240 months in prison and a fine of $200,000.
For methamphetamine, the maximum penalty is up to 240 months in prison and a fine of $200,000.
For PCP, the maximum penalty is up to 250 months in prison and a fine of $200,000.
For MDMA, the maximum penalty is up to 180 months in prison and a fine of $250,000.
For marijuana, the maximum penalty is up to 240 months in prison and a $200,000 fine.
Don’t fight your drug charges alone. The penalties for these serious crimes could take away your freedom and impact you for the rest of your life. You deserve a drug defense lawyer who will stand beside you in the courtroom and fight for your rights. Call Korey Leslie Attorney-at-Law to set up a free consultation to learn why he is the attorney you want fighting in your corner.