Assault Charges

If you have been accused of assault, you need a Pennsylvania defense attorney who can help you understand your rights under the law. Assault can cover a range of events, from an argument that got out of hand to a threat of violence in a domestic dispute. Even simple assault can come with serious penalties that include jail time and fines, as well as a permanent criminal record.

A simple assault charge in Pennsylvania

A crime against another person, assault involves intentionally, knowingly or recklessly injuring someone else.

You’ll usually see simple assault charges broken down as follows:

  • As a misdemeanor of the second degree, a simple assault conviction could result in up to two years of prison time and a $5,000 fine.
  • Simple assault against a child younger than 12 is a misdemeanor of the first degree punishable by up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
  • Simple assault with mutual consent, as seen in a group fight, is a misdemeanor of the third degree and you could face a year in prison and a $2,500 fine.

An aggravated assault charge in Pennsylvania

Also known as felony assault, aggravated assault is a very serious charge.

Aggravated assault charges include the following:

  • aggravated assault with cause or attempt to cause serious bodily injury is a felony of the first degree punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a $25,000 fine;
  • and aggravated assault that causes serious injury or threatens to cause serious injury with a deadly weapon, a felony of the second degree, is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $25,000 fine

Other related assault charges in Pennsylvania

There are several other charges related to assault that could come with serious consequences if you don’t have an experienced defense lawyer defending your liberty and freedom.

Recklessly endangering another person: A misdemeanor of the second degree, you may be accused of endangering another person if you put someone at risk of death or serious injury. This charge is punishable by up to two years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Terroristic threats: A terroristic threat can be made in person, by phone or through text and email. If convicted, the max penalty carries five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Harassment: Harassment can include many factors, including shoving, striking or kicking a person, following them in a public place, repeated communications and lewd language or drawings. It is a misdemeanor of the third degree and punishable by up to one year in prison and a $2,500 fine.

More information about the Pennsylvania assault laws can be found here.

Hire a defense attorney to fight for your case

An experienced defense attorney can help you learn about your options when it comes to fighting assault, harassment or other related charges. Contact the professionals at Korey Leslie Attorney-at-Law to learn how our York, Pa., defense attorneys can help you develop a defense of the best possible outcome for your case.